Antiquity Collector

Saint James 1885


Typologies: Rum
Provenance: Martinique
Format: 100cl.
Alc Vol: 47% Vol.
€10,570.00

+22% tax

Taxes and shipping excluded

They will be applied at the checkout


Secure payments
Express delivery
Payments

Description

There is no Saint James vintage older than this one, a true GRAIL for many enthusiasts. In 1885, the date of this vintage, Zola published Germinal, Victor Hugo left our world, and the Saint James distillery was already distilling rum.

At the time, Pasteur's work on pasteurization was not yet widespread and St-James heated his cane juice (without boiling it and therefore without reaching the syrup stage) to eliminate all germs, before inoculated with yeasts for fermentation which took place in the open air, in wooden vats, and for several days. A process that lasted until the 1930s, when the first stainless steel tanks arrived.

It is therefore indeed an agricultural rum (rhum agricole), marketed for the first time in the 1900s according to period advertisements found. It was only (re)discovered late (nearly a century after its bottling), when Saint-James found traces of a stock in Amsterdam in one of its branches.

At the beginning of the 1980s, a certain Luca Gargano discovered it and decided to invest in the purchase of some 300 bottles at the beginning of the 1990s, in partnership with a certain Pepi Mongiardino (director of Moon Import, another great figure of Italian trading). The rest is just history, and this vintage is undoubtedly the rarest of all.



You might also be interested in…

Antiquity Collector

Saint James 1885


Typologies : Rum
Provenance : Martinique
Millésime / Vintage : 1885
Format : 100cl.
Vol Alc : 47% Vol.
10 570,00 €

+22% Taxe

Taxes et livraison exclues

Ils seront appliqués à la caisse


Paiements sécurisés
Livraison express
Paiements

Description

Il n'y a pas de millésime Saint James plus ancien que celui-ci, véritable GRAAL de très nombreux amateurs. En 1885, date de ce millésime, Zola publiait Germinal, Victor Hugo quittait notre monde, et la distillerie Saint James distillait du rhum, déjà.

Découvrez son histoire à l'adresse suivante...


À l'époque, les travaux de Pasteur sur la pasteurisation ne sont pas encore répandus et St-James fait chauffer son jus de canne (sans le bouillir et donc sans arriver au stade de sirop) pour en éliminer tous les germes, avant d'ensemencer avec des levures pour une fermentation qui se faisait à l'air libre, dans des cuves en bois, et durant plusieurs jours. Un procédé qui perdurera jusque dans les années 1930, date d'arrivée des premières cuves en inox.

Il s'agit donc bien d'un rhum agricole, commercialisé pour la première fois dans les années 1900 selon les publicités d'époque retrouvées. Il n'a été (re)découvert que tardivement (près d'un siècle après son embouteillage), lorsque Saint-James a retrouvé la trace d'un stock à Amsterdam dans une de ses succursales.

Au début des années 1980, un certain Luca Gargano en fait sa découverte et décide d'investir dans l'achat de quelques 300 bouteilles au début des années 1990, en partenariat avec un certain Pepi Mongiardino (directeur de Moon Import, autre grande figure du négoce italien). Le reste n'est qu'histoire, et porte en véritable GRAAL ce millésime, sans aucun doute le plus rare de tous.



Vous pourriez aussi être intéressé par…