Old Collector

Saint James 1929


Typologies: Rum
Provenance: Martinique
Vintage: 1929
Format: 50cl.
Alc Vol: 47% Vol.
€8,569.00

+22% tax

Taxes and shipping excluded

They will be applied at the checkout


Secure payments
Express delivery
Payments

Description

Here is one of the rarest vintages from the Saint James distillery.

Distilled in 1929 in a 50cl bottle, its appearance coincides with a busy and brutal historical period to say the least. If the 1885 vintage predates the devastating eruption of Montagne Pelée in 1902, the vintage here, the Saint James 1929, will keep the particularity of having been distilled in the year of a new eruption of the sleeping beauty, which occurred on the night of September 16, 1929.

Three months later, the so-called colonial rum quota law was adopted and dealt a blow to the industry. We are at the start of an unprecedented economic crisis which is hitting all of France and causing the selling prices of rum to fall.

In this chaos, the Saint James distillery nevertheless emerged from a phase of expansion which consolidated its activity: from 1920 to 1930, it notably acquired warehouses and offices in the main cities of Europe. .

Old Collector

Saint James 1929


Typologies : Rum
Provenance : Martinique
Millésime / Vintage : 1929
Format : 50cl.
Vol Alc : 47% Vol.
8 569,00 €

+22% Taxe

Taxes et livraison exclues

Ils seront appliqués à la caisse


Paiements sécurisés
Livraison express
Paiements

Description

Voici un millésime de la distillerie Saint James parmi les plus rares.

Distillé en 1929 en bouteille de 50cl, son apparition coïncide avec une période historique chargée et pour le moins brutale. Si le millésime 1885 est antérieur à l'éruption dévastatrice de la Montagne Pelée en 1902, le millésime ici présent, le Saint James 1929, gardera la particularité d'avoir été distillé l'année d'une nouvelle éruption de la belle endormie, survenue dans la nuit du 16 septembre 1929.

Trois mois plus tard, la loi dite du "contingentement des rhums coloniaux" est adoptée et porte un coup à la filière. Nous sommes au début d'une crise économique sans précédent qui frappe toute la France et fait chuter les prix de vente du rhum.

Dans ce chaos, la distillerie Saint James sort néanmoins son épingle du jeu en sortant d'une phase d'expansion qui consolidera son activité: de 1920 à 1930, elle fera notamment l'acquisition d'entrepôts et de bureaux dans les principales villes d'Europe.