Old Collector

Maniba 60 bottled in the 1950/1960


Typologies: Rum
Provenance: Martinique
Format: 98cl.
Alc Vol: 60% Vol.
€799.00

+22% tax

Taxes and shipping excluded

They will be applied at the checkout


Secure payments
Express delivery
Payments

Description

Very (very) rare bottle of Maniba rum, former Martinican distillery. The 98cl bottle. is imposing and displays a unique alcoholic degree of 60%.

The story goes that the rum was bottled in the 1950s/1960s and offered to the shareholders of the distillery when it closed. On this occasion, they used bottles of white rum (originally 50%) and modified the titration by hand, transforming the 50 into 60, and bottling a rum that we imagine aged instead of white rum normally intended for this bottle.

A peaceful fishing village about ten kilometers north of Fort-de-France, Case-Pilote was not only one of the first towns in Martinique, it was also the scene of a legendary distillery: Maniba. Its traces date back to the year 1918 when a certain Mr. R. de Jaham was authorized to transfer his distillery from Fond Boucher.

In 1922, the distillery changed into a sugar refinery to cope with the quota law which then limited the quantity of rum produced. In 1956, the distillery and its estate were sold to several shareholder families of S.A. Maniba and the sugar cane was sent to the Lareinty factory, located in Lamentin.

The distillery smoked again in 1959 and was equipped with a Creole column then a few years later (in 1962) with a Savalle column which produced great aroma for export. In 1974, the distillery closed its doors for good. His column is sold to Trois-Rivières and the contingent to the Saint-James distillery which will perpetuate the Maniba brand.

Old Collector

Maniba 60 bottled in the 1950/1960


Typologies : Rum
Provenance : Martinique
Année embouteillage : 1950/1960
Format : 98cl.
Vol Alc : 60% Vol.
799,00 €

+22% Taxe

Taxes et livraison exclues

Ils seront appliqués à la caisse


Paiements sécurisés
Livraison express
Paiements

Description

Très (très) rare bouteille de rhum Maniba, ancienne distillerie martiniquaise, la bouteille de 98cl est imposante et affiche un degré alcoolique unique de 60%.

L'histoire raconte que le rhum a été embouteillé dans les années 1950/1960 et offert aux actionnaires de la distillerie lors de la fermeture de cette dernière. A cette occasion, ils ont utilisé les bouteilles de rhum blanc (titrant à l'origine 50%) et en ont modifié le titrage à la main, transformant le 50 en 60, et embouteillant un rhum que l'on imagine vieilli au lieu du rhum blanc normalement destiné à cette bouteille.

Paisible village de pêcheurs à une dizaine de kilomètres au nord de Fort-de-France, Case-Pilote ne fut pas seulement l’une des premières bourgades de Martinique, elle fut aussi le théâtre d'une distillerie mythique : Maniba. Ses traces remontent à l'année 1918 lorsqu'un certain Monsieur R. de Jaham fut autorisé à transférer sa distillerie de Fond Boucher.

En 1922, la distillerie se changera en sucrerie pour faire face à la loi contingent qui limitait alors la quantité de rhum produite. Dès 1956, la distillerie et son domaine sont vendus à plusieurs familles actionnaires de la S.A. Maniba et la canne à sucre est envoyée à l’usine du Lareinty, située au Lamentin.

La distillerie fume à nouveau en 1959 et se voit équipée d'une colonne créole puis quelques années plus tard (en 1962) d'une colonne Savalle qui produit du grand arôme pour l’export. En 1974, la distillerie met définitivement la clé sous la porte. Sa colonne est vendue à Trois-Rivières et le contingent à la distillerie Saint-James qui fera perdurer la marque Maniba.